Advisory Board

Our department's advisory board is composed of respected leaders in industry, government, and academia. 

Meet Our Advisory Board

Hank Orejuela, advisory board chairman
Hank Orejuela, advisory board chairman

Our board members, who are from a range of organizations involved in the application of electrical and computer engineering, include:


Hank Orejuela, advisory board chairman, president, Applied Systems Analytics


Robert Berezdivin, senior consultant


Sandra Cauffman, acting division director of Earth Science, NASA


Terry Collins, former CEO and president, Argon ST


James S. Cullen, advanced technology consultant, Northrop Grumman


Abdi Dirie, manager of IBM Washington Intellectual Property Law Department


Gene Eckhart, former senior director for international operations for National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)


Ricardo Gonzalez, director of the Space Systems Product Line, BAE Systems


Phil Harvey, principal engineering fellow and chief security engineer at Raytheon


Robert Hummel, vice president of research, Potomac Institute for Policy Studies


Thomas G. Krappweis, senior engineer, Lockheed Martin Corporation


Glen Martin, process integration engineering senior manager, Micron Technology


Carl Schaefer, senior program director, Aurora Flight Sciences, a Boeing Company


Chitra Sivanandam, vice president for analytics, SAIC


Tony Tether, former director of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)


“The advisory board members are passionate about contributing from our backgrounds and experience in industry to assist the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in maximizing the opportunities and solving the challenges of the future.”

— Hank Orejuela, advisory board chairman, president, Applied Systems Analytics